WAYNE CO., IN—The Eastern Indiana Gem & Geological Society, INC, founded in April 1966, is celebrating 47 years in April 2013.
The mission of the society is to provide instructions for anyone interested (not necessarily experienced) in Earth Science, collecting Minerals, Crystals and Fossils and the polishing of stone for the mounting in jewelry, Silversmith, Wire Wrapping, Precious Metal Clay Enameling and Hobby related activities.
The club will celebrate the 40th Annual Gem & Mineral Show at the Wayne County 4H Fair Grounds March 1-3 2013. The purpose of the show is to promote knowledge and interest in the Earth Science and the Lapidary Arts.
The Club also holds classes and workshops on Tuesdays and Thursday, 6:30 p.m., (weather permitting) for members who have completed Lapidary machine training.
Each year a scholarship is awarded to a high school graduate who’s endeavor of study is in the field of Earth Science or Geological studies. The Award is given annually and presented at the start of the fall college year.
The society’s headquarters is a rescued historic Wayne County Farm House, 5199 U.S. Highway 40 between Richmond, IN and Centerville, IN, built in 1840 by James Raiden, a prominent Centerville politician and land speculator. The house was part of a working farm and Inn Stop (Esteb Inn). An underground tunnel, which collapsed in the 1920s, connected the inn to the large Brick House East (Eliason’s Tavern) and a stagecoach stop called the Gray Gables. Both houses were used for settlers moving West to settle land and for drovers moving herds of cattle and hogs east to markets.
Membership in the Eastern Indiana Gem & Mineral Society is open to anyone wishing to learn Lapidary Arts. Family Membership is encouraged as well as Individual Membership after completion of a short training workshop on the equipment in the Lapidary Workshop. Membership is open to the public
|The Eastern Indiana Gem and Geological Society invites to visit and learn more about the organization.|